Setting the criteria

So after reading the texts mentioned in my bibliography, these are the questions I’ve come up with that I’m going to use as criteria to judge a character’s portrayal in the shows/films that qualify as my case studies:

  1. Is her ethnicity/race alluded to?
  2. Is she the primary female lead or a secondary one?
  3. Does her ethnicity/race influence who her partner/romantic interest is?
  4. Is she a homemaker/professional?
  5. Does her obvious ethnicity make her the recipient of stereotypes/prejudices usually associated with that group?

Using these questions as my benchmark, I’m going to comment on my case studies.

Leave a Reply

